Brad Smith, Board Chair, meeting Opportunity Scholars at OpportunityTalks
About us

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors for the Washington State Opportunity Scholarship consists of eleven members. Six members are appointed by the governor, three of which are provided by the president of the senate and the speaker of the house of representatives.

The governor also appoints five board members representing foundations or business and industry from our state’s most high-demand sectors including aerospace, manufacturing, health care, information technology, engineering and agriculture as well as philanthropy.

The board provides oversight and guidance including determining eligible education programs, legislative priorities, setting annual fund-raising goals and other duties and responsibilities. Learn more about the Board of Directors.

Brad Smith
WSOS Board Chair
Microsoft Corporation, Vice Chair and President
R. Miller Adams
Pier 70 Ventures, Managing Director
Diane Cecchettini
MultiCare Health System, Retired CEO
Beth Johnson
Coordinated Care, President and CEO
Jane Park
Tokki, Founder and CEO
Ihssane Mounir
Senior Vice President of Global Supply Chain for Boeing Commercial Airplanes
Learn More Ihssane Mounir
Gary Rubens
Start It Labs | Rubens Family Foundation, Founder
Julie Sandler
Pioneer Square Labs, Managing Director
Pallavur “PV” Sivakumar
Bristol Myers Squibb, Vice President and Head of Discovery
Patrick Smith
B.T. Loftus Ranches, Inc., CEO
Mike Wilson
Providence Health Care Spokane, Retired CEO

Would you like to address the Board of Directors during a quarterly meeting? Visit our public comment webpage.

Finance & Investment Committee

Brad Faulhaber
Elisa LaCava
Trilogy Equity Partners
Matt Rubright
Julie Sandler
Pioneer Square Labs
Joseph Walker
Bo Lee
Beacon Pointe
Jess Peet
Patrick Smith
B.T. Loftus Ranches